Jan Hemelrijk Award - VVSOR - VVSOR

Vereniging voor Statistiek en Operations Research

Jan Hemelrijk Award

Call For Nominations Jan Hemelrijk Award 2018
Deadline January 20, 2019

(for the Willem R. van Zwet Award, click here)

In recognition of an outstanding graduation performance, the Jan Hemelrijk Award (formerly known as VVSOR Master’s Thesis Award) is bestowed each year to a Master’s thesis in statistics or operations research. The prize consists of a certificate and €1000,-.

Eligible candidates for the 2018 award are graduates from the academic years 2016/2017 and 2017/2018 that have not been nominated before. The closing date of entries is fixed at January 20, 2019.

We invite thesis supervisors to submit nominations for the Jan Hemelrijk Award. See here for the:
nomination form Jan Hemelrijk Award 2018
the formal regulations
former award winners
the 2018 jury

The nomination form must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation. The letter should include:
– A description of the Master’s thesis as an original contribution to a research topic in statistics or operations research, or as an innovative application of theoretical concepts originating from
statistics or operations research.
– Additional qualifications of the nominee.

The nomination form, the recommendation letter and the thesis itself (in pdf format) should be sent to the VVSOR at thesisaward@vvsor.nl. It is possible to send the thesis by postal mail instead; in that case, please contact thesisaward@vvsor.nl for the procedure.

The nomination has to be submitted by January 20, 2019 at the latest.