Willem R. van Zwet Award

Call For Nominations Willem R. van Zwet Award 2020
Deadline January 24, 2021

(for the Jan Hemelrijk Award, click here)

We proudly announce the Willem R. van Zwet Award, an award that will annually be bestowed on an excellent Ph.D. in statistics or operations research, obtained at a Dutch university. The prize consists of a certificate and €1000,-.

Eligible candidates for the 2020 award must have successfully defended their Ph.D. thesis during the academic year 2018/2019 or 2019/2020. The closing date for entries is fixed at January 24, 2021.

We invite supervisors (promotores) to submit nominations for the Willem R. van Zwet Award. See here for the:
nomination form Willem R. van Zwet Award 2020
the formal regulations
former award winners
the 2020 jury

The nomination form must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation. The letter should include:
– A motivation: why does this Ph.D. thesis deserve an award?
– Additional qualifications of the nominee.

The nomination form and the recommendation letter should be sent to the VVSOR at thesisaward@vvsor.nl. Five (5) hard-copies of the Ph.D. thesis should be sent to the Secretary of the Jury at Dr. Sander Scholtus, Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek, Sector Procesontwikkeling en Methodologie, Henri Faasdreef 312, 2492 JP Den Haag.

The nomination has to be submitted by January 24, 2021 at the latest.