Annual report 2010 of BMS and ANed

The board and activities of the Biometrical Section (BMS) of the Netherlands Society for Statistics and Operations Research (VVS-OR) and the Dutch Region (ANed) of the International Biometric Society (IBS) are identical. Therefore for 2010, only one annual report is written for both scientific professional associations. All information on the activities of BMS and ANed is available through the website www.bms-aned.nl

Board, active members and annual meeting

Board

In 2009 there were no changes in the board of BMS-ANed. The board consisted in 2010 of:

- prof Fred van Eeuwijk, PhD (president, Biometris, Wageningen UR, also delegate for the board of VVS-OR),
- Maarten Schipper, PhD (secretary, RIVM, Bilthoven),
- Jos Hageman, PhD (treasurer, Biometris, Wageningen),
- Hilde Tobi, PhD (member, Wageningen University),
- Martin Struijs, MSc (member, Genzyme BV, Naarden) and
- Liesbeth de Wreede, PhD (member, LUMC, Leiden).

Working groups

BMS-ANed has three working groups to cover specific sub disciplines. The current working groups and their presidents are:

- Biometry Colloquium Wageningen
 Gerrit Gort, PhD (Biometris, Wageningen)
- Pharmaceutical Statistics and Data Management (PSDM)
 Egbert Biesheuvel, PhD (MSD, Oss)
- Medical Statistics
 Lidia Arends, PhD (Erasmus MC, Rotterdam)

Board for Registration of Biostatisticians consisted in 2010 of:

- Paul Koopman, MSc (president, Solvay Pharmaceuticals Weesp)
- Hans Jansen, PhD (secretary, Biometris Wageningen)
- George Borm, PhD (Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Nijmegen MC)
- prof Koos Zwinderman, PhD (Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, AMC)

As of June 2010 Hans Jansen stepped down as secretary of the Board for Registration of Biostatisticians. Until a new secretary is found, Koos Zwinderman will fill in this position.

Active members

Member of the IBS Council (until December 31, 2010)

Hendriek Boshuizen, PhD (RIVM, Bilthoven)

Member of the Finance Committee of the IBS (from 01-06-2008 until 31-05-2012)

Marco Bink, PhD (Biometris, Wageningen UR)

President of the Channel Network Region of the IBS

Hein Putter, PhD (LUMC, Leiden)

Editorial member of the VVS-magazine STAtOR

Hilde Tobi (Wageningen UR)

Treasurer of the International Society of Clinical Biostatics (ISCB)

Koos Zwinderman (AMC, Amsterdam)

Vice-President of the European Federation of Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (EFSPI) (until 31-12-2010)

- prof Kit Roes, PhD (UMC, Utrecht)

Member of the EFSPI Council

- prof Kit Roes, PhD ((UMC, Utrecht) (until 31-12-2010)
- Egbert Biesheuvel, PhD (MSD, Oss)

Reporter of EFSPI

Pierre Verweij, PhD (MSD, Oss)

Annual Assembly

The annual assembly of BMS-ANed took place on December 2, 2010 in LUMC Leiden. The minutes of the assembly are available on www.bms-aned.nl

Scientific Activities

Biometry Award 2010

On June 15 2010, at the ANed spring meeting in Utrecht the ANed Biometry Award 2010 was awarded to Judith Lok for her winning paper: Statistical modeling of causal effects in continuous time.

Marc Buyse, the chairman of the jury was present to give a presentation and to hand out the award. The jury report said:

Causal inference is an important tool to analyze the effects of time-varying treatments and confounders on time to event outcomes. The work presented here extends previous results and provides an exhaustive overview of the conceptual framework for studying causal effects in continuous time. The paper is at the same time highly readable, rigorous and mathematically elegant. It will become the reference for much applied work in the future.

Judith Lok has agreed to organize a meeting on the topic of her paper beginning 2011.

The jury also awarded 4 honorary mentions to:

- Ronald B. Geskus: Cause-specific cumulative incidence estimation and the Fine and Gray model under both left truncation and right censoring
- Francisca Galindo Garre, Aeilko H. Zwinderman, Ronald B. Geskus and Yvo W.J. Spijkens,: A joint latent class changepoint model to improve the prediction of time to graft failure
- Mark A. van de Wiel, Johannes Berkhof and Wessel N. van Wieringen: Testing the prediction error difference between 2 predictors
- Wessel N. van Wieringen and Mark A. van de Wiel: Non-parametric testing for DNA copy number induced differential mRNA gene expression

Also the following activities were organized in 2010 by BMS-ANed or one of the working groups.

April 1, 2010: BMS Session on Statistical Aspects in Modeling the Spread of Infectious Diseases, at the Day for Statistics and OR

- Tracking the novel influenza A/H1N1v pandemic Jacco Wallinga, RIVM
- A study of the early stage of the A/H1N1v pandemic in Europe and the mitigation effect of school closure

Niel Hens, Universiteit Antwerpen | Universiteit Hasselt

June 15, 2010: Spring meeting BMS-ANed: Symposium "Statistical Inference in Clinical Research" on the occasion of the inauguration of prof. Kit Roes

Three presentations (by George Borm, Andy Grieve and Pierre Verweij) were given on the theme "New developments in clinical trials" and three presentations (by Mark van der Laan, Wiebe Pestman and Willem van der Wal) on the theme "Causal inference".

November 25, 2010: PSDM meeting on Patient Reported Outcomes (PROs)

- Welcome
 - Wouter Wijker (PSDM board member)
- Introduction and overview of PROs

Dr Pythia Nieuwkerk - AMC

- ePRO evaluation and emerging best practise
 - Adam Wood, Account Director, invivodata
- A taxonomy of test construction methods and validity procedures (talk in Dutch language)
 - Dr Harrie Vorst, University of Amsterdam
- Item Response models for the analyses of questionnaire data Prof. Paul de Boeck, University of Amsterdam
- Annual PSDM Meeting

December 2, 2010: Fall meeting BMS-ANed: Teaching Statistics

- introduction by Saskia le Cessie (LUMC)
- Jacob van Eeghen (Stedelijk Gymnasium Leiden)
- George Borm (RU)
- Bas Engel (WUR)
- Cas Kruitwagen (UU)
- Propositions and discussion

Other

First issue Biometrical Journal of 2010 dedicated to Hans van Houwelingen

The first issue of 2010 of the Biometrical Journal was dedicated to Hans van Houwelingen, at the occasion of his retirement from the department of Medical Statistics and Bioinformatics of the LUMC.

Hans van Houwelingen is honorary member of ANed. At the occasion of his retirement he received a Royal decoration and the preparation of the special issue was already announced.

The special issue of the Biometrical Journal has been created with contributions of former students and colleagues with whom Hans has collaborated during his long career.

It also contains an editorial by Theo Stijnen, Saskia le Cessie, and Hein Putter, with a broad overview of his work.

BMS-ANed group on LinkedIn

ANed-BMS now has its own group on LinkedIn. It is maintained by Martin Struijs. All members are invited to join the group of biometric professionals in the Netherlands

Change in IBS and ANed membership structure

The IBS introduced a new membership structure. A new type of membership is introduced for retired members.

The Senior Retiree Regular Membership is open to anyone who has been a Regular Member (including current Associate Members) of the IBS for at least 10 years, and who is no longer gainfully employed. At the same time the associated membership was no longer available.